The House

Let me start out by saying that we were NOT in the market to buy a house when I stumbled upon this one. We were actually in the market to rent – however, as we soon found out, any house worth renting had a rent way above our price range.

When I stumbled upon this house, it was love at first sight. Don’t get me wrong – it needed lots of work. But the neighborhood, yard,  craftsman style, and vaulted ceilings did me in. Once I had decided I had to have it – well, I had to have it. I may be a slightly stubborn and determined individual…

After signing my life away to the mortgage company, Andy and I were on the pathway to adulthood. AKA lots and lots of stress. Although I loved the house, the pathway to owning it was not lined with daisies. Upon inspection, Andy and I were informed that the basement (already renamed Andy’s man cave) was going to need substantial work to the tune of about 20 thousand bucks. You see the house was added on to in the 90’s… and that should probably be enough said. The entire structural support of the back part of the house was, well, rigged. The supporting wall was leaning about 10 degrees and the cement blocks were falling apart. Not to mention the support beams were a mess of rotting and decaying 4x4s which were not properly grounded. What a disaster!

But luck, and a very good realtor, were on our side. The owner had already bought a new house in Canada (yes – she was moving from Atlanta to Canada) and was desperately ready to sell the house. So she agreed to pay for all of the structural repairs, as well as several other smaller issues the inspector had turned up.

After months of repairs and an arduous closing process, we were home at last!! The necessary renos and projects were unending. The house was far from perfect, but it had a ton of potential. Here are some pictures of the house taken before we moved in.

Before:

ISzckl86rde9wj

After:

IMG_1555

Before:

ISyq4f7jm6qz6r

After:

Before:

ISyq4f8uyxgalf

After:

IMG_9954

Before:

ISyq4f9yfjpe3n

After:

IMG_9975

Before:

ISyq4f87ak3mw3

After:

IMG_1412 (1)

Before:

ISyq4faa9qdpyb

After:

kitchen14

Leave a Reply

