The Bourbon

Bourbon and I have had some good times and some bad. But at the end of a long day, I seem to only be able to remember the good. There is nothing quite like sitting down after a long day of work with a glass of delicious rich bourbon on the rocks by your side.

My love for bourbon began predictably. In college I started drinking Jim Beam or Jack Daniels (yes, I know, not technically bourbon) with coca cola (NEVER PEPSI). From there I started to develop taste buds.

My first foray into real bourbon began at the Kentucky Derby. This is where I had my first taste of Woodford Reserve. And boy was I hooked after that! To this day Woodford remains one of my all time favorites.

1504969_10102860017309230_458335575_n

(2013 Christmas presents)

After the races, my friends and I decided to take the scenic route home and explore the Bourbon Trail. First stop – Jim Beam. Now, if you are not a bourbon fanatic like I was not at time, you may think that the Jim Beam distillery makes only one line of bourbon… Jim Beam. However, like I was about to learn, you would be wrong. Jim Beam makes a plethora of delicious top of the line bourbons, for example: Elijiah Craig, Bookers, Bakers, Knob Creek, and my personal favorite Basil Hayden.

2862_760233967920_7444246_n 2862_760234037780_3719299_n

(Jim Beam Distillery circa 2009)

From there, our journey took us to Heaven Hill, distiller of Evan Williams among others.

2862_760234222410_871225_n

(Heaven Hill  Distillery circa 2009)

And onward to Maker’s Mark…

2862_760234287280_7360008_n

(Maker’s Mark Distillery circa 2009)

There, sadly, our Bourbon Trail journey ended; however, my love for bourbon never would. Throughout our house renovations, good bourbon, just like Whiskey (cat), will always be our helping hand. So as I post about our DIY projects and house renos, I will occasionally post about the different bourbons that are helping keep us sane throughout this journey.

P.S. I just discovered this amazing article entitled “Behind Every Good Whisky Is a Trusty Distillery Cat” written by Ari Shapiro and posted on http://www.npr.org. Check it out! http://www.npr.org/blogs/parallels/2014/09/09/347093135/behind-every-good-whisky-is-a-trusty-distillery-cat

 

Leave a Reply

