Kitchen Wall

If one word was used to describe my interior style it would probably have to be clean. I don’t want to live in a sterile environment – this is not the clean I am referring to. I am referring to the absence of unnecessary material. I despise useless clutter. Don’t get me wrong, I love decorations like paintings and pictures, within moderation; however, knick knacks and messiness make me shudder. While my sense of style is in no way modern, I think there is a very happy compromise to be found between traditional, homey, comfortable, and clean.

As you can probably tell, I’m having a hard time describing my disdain for the wainscoting that was in my kitchen. I say was because those wooden panels are gone now! I don’t have anything against wainscoting in general, if done properly and in the right setting, I certainly think it can add style and value to your home. However, I do believe that the cracked and thrown together wainscoting in my kitchen was neither stylish nor clean.  Instead it just looked like crap and it drove me insane.

The following picture is slightly dated, as I retrieved it from zillow.com. Yes, once again I forgot to take a dang before picture. I got too excited.

ISyq4f96t44mg3

The walls were yellow when we moved in… a color that I don’t hate but it certainly did not match our new backsplash (see Kitchen Backsplash). You also cannot really discern the state this wainscoting was in. It was cracked and poorly thrown together. It was also not the clean look I desire in my kitchen.

The “table” pictured is actually a heavy slab of granite resting on a cafe style metal leg and glued into the wall. Fine for a restaurant, not so fine for my kitchen. We never used this as a table, only as extra counter space. It was awkwardly located, jutted out into the kitchen, and relatively useless considering the small size and lack of shelves. So, like the wainscoting, it had to go.

Which leads me to these pictures…

photo 1

photo 2

Yep – we ripped that sucker out. And then we went to Ace Hardware, and I purchased my first crow bar. And boy did I got to town with that baby.

photo 4

I highly recommend ripping wainscoting off a kitchen wall for anger management purposes. It was very rewarding!

But look at the wall… Beyond the thousands of small nail holes, there were also a couple of large holes caused by overzealous hammers (definitely not my fault) and just all around shitty construction. I have no idea who dry walled this kitchen, but it is the shoddiest work I do believe I’ve ever seen. It is a patch work of scraps, so it seems, with – wait for it – duck tape in places! Not to mention irregular pieces and concaved areas. What a disaster.

The tile was also a joke – it went to the wainscoting, not the actual wall. So now there is about an inch gap between the tile and wall. Fabulous.

So back to Ace I go to purchase a huge jar of spackling paste. First I used our electric sander to sand down the entire area as best as I could. Then I spackled the entire wall. Then sanded. Spackled. And sanded some more. My arm at this point was about as tired as it gets. And since Andy was having a great time at the lake, I get to take full credit for this project. My right arm still hurts as I type this actually…

photo 5

photo 7

Told you it was bad.

Finally I got it to a point where I could finally slap some paint on it. While still not perfect, which irritates my OCD to no end, it will definitely past muster once we finish and move our next project into place (get excited for this one!). Until that time, I still say it looks a hell of a lot better than it did with shoddy wainscoting and a cafe style granite table!!

photo 8 photo 9 photo 10

Not so bad if I do say so myself. Even if my arm does feel like it may fall off.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Wall”

Leave a Reply

