Bathroom Rebuild

After two days of work and a bill of just over $800, my bathroom has officially been rebuilt!

While Andy and I are trying to keep costs down by doing as much work as possible, some things you just can’t do yourself. Like leveling a floor and installing a bath tub. I think the contractor (from Atlanta Painting Plus) was slightly surprised at how involved this project was…

First, let’s begin with the floor. As anyone who has ever owned an old house knows, the floors are simply not level. Everywhere in our house we have slight bumps and slants. Technically we have three old houses. The original house was built in 1940, added onto sometime around the 60’s, and then added onto again in the 90’s. Everything was fine until the shoddy 90’s work. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I honestly think they pulled some people off the street and handed them tools.

When we first bought the house in 2013, the structural support wall for the entire back half of the house was leaning about 3 inches back with all the mortar loose between the cinder blocks. The engineer told us that he literally didn’t know how the back half of the house was still standing. So the seller of the house agreed to fix this my installing new support posts to take the weight of the house off the wall entirely. But as the seller told us, this wall had been like this for a LONG time. So it is really no surprise that our floors and walls are not level – not even close.

Our contractor was able to fix the major hump in the bathroom floor by leveling one side of the bathroom by adding a new joist higher than the old one. The other slant, going the other way on the other half the bathroom was not fixable without jacking up the house and repairing all the floors, including the kitchen. This is most likely the damage caused by the structural wall failure. Obviously, we were not going to do this. Definitely not worth the large investment this would cost. Besides, what’s an old house without some character, right?!

Here is the floor with just the new plywood installed after the old (shitty) bathtub had been removed and the joist replaced.

photo 2 (3)

Of course when am I ever able to take a picture without my fur babies showing up?

photo 3 (3)

And here is the junk pile from the old floor…

photo 1 (3)

Day two was spent installing the bathtub. Nothing can ever be standard, am I correct? The space we had for our bathtub was 59″ in length… The standard bathtub is 60″. Luckily, I had already prepared the contractor for this and he had confirmed that they would be able to shave back the studs in order to fit the 60″ tub. Sounds like a blast – better them than me! But they did a great job, and my bathtub is amazing!! It is super deep and long enough for me to actually stretch my legs out – and for those of you who don’t know me, I have REALLY long legs. I’m almost 5’11 with disproportionately long legs to be precise (can you say economy comfort?). So this is a truly amazing feat.

photo 1 (4) photo 2 (4)

photo 3 (4)

Next up – tiling! Stay tuned 🙂

Leave a Reply

